top of page
bitesofhappiness

Moutabal (eggplant caviar)

What to say about this dish ? Maybe, one of my favourites. It's very special, because I cook it according to the tradition, and the burnt tast can be too much particuliar for some people. I cook them over a flame.


The first time, my husband told me : " Pouah, what do you eat in this country !!!" . He really hated but now, he loves it. When my brother comes home, he always wants me to cook Moutabal. Before, I cooked for my dad, because he said that it was tasty as in Lebanon.






Ingredients for 8 persons :


  • 4 big eggplants

  • 7.05 ounces of tahini

  • 2 little garlic cloves or one big

  • 1 lemon juice

  • 1 cup of olive oil

  • sumac to decorate (rhus coriaria)


Put the eggplant on the flame, and turn them often. When they are soft, put them under cold water and peel the skin. Put the eggplant in a salad bowl and, when they are colder, press the garlic cloves, add the tahini, the lemon juice, salt, olive oil, and the garlic. Mix all and decorate with sumac and olive oil.


Enjoy your meal !

27 vues3 commentaires

Posts récents

Voir tout

3 commentaires


Alison Bouhmid
Alison Bouhmid
25 mars

Hello,

thanks for this recipe. I have a question though - is sumac really the same as poison ivy?

J'aime
bitesofhappiness
10 avr.
En réponse à

Hello, you were right, it's not poison ivy LOL ! Everybody's safe ! I'm not yet a witch...


Nadia

J'aime
bottom of page